Recently, I was accused of presenting myself as being wiser than Jesus Christ.

The reason? Because I had posted that Matthew 23:23 was not a command for the New Testament Christian.

My rebuttal was as follows:

I am wise enough to know that when Jesus was speaking in Matthew 23:23, He was speaking to scribes and Pharisees. He even said that He was speaking to scribes and Pharisees in the same verse..

I am wise enough to know that Jesus said that agricultural products were what the scribes and Pharisees tithed.

I am wise enough to know that Jesus said that tithing was a matter of the Law.

I am wise enough to know that the Law was given to the children of Israel, not to the New Covenant Church.

I am wise enough to know that Jesus would not have told the scribes and Pharisees to tithe money, since the Law said God’s commanded tithe was agricultural.

I am wise enough to know that Jesus would have been telling the scribes and Pharisees to transgress the Law, (thereby sinning) had He told them to tithe money.

I may not be wiser than Jesus, but I am wise enough to know what Jesus said in Matthew 23:23, and that Matthew 23:23 is not a command to the New Testament Church.

Matthew 23:23 Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye (scribes and Pharisees) pay tithe of mint and anise and cummin, (agricultural produce) and have omitted the weightier matters of the law, judgment, mercy, and faith: these (tithing of agricultural produce) ought ye (scribes and Pharisees) to have done, and not to leave the other undone.

Proverbs 23:19 Hear thou, my son, and be wise, and guide thine heart in the way.

