I had no dad in my life after my dad died on Christmas day 1960. I was fifteen months old when he died. Mother never remarried.
 
Mother did all the disciplining needed with a switch cut from a bush outside our house. I learned how to dance while someone was clinging tightly to me with one hand and switching my bottom and legs with the other.
 
Those switchings may have left temporary welts, but they kept me from getting more rebellious without them. Had mother not switched me when I was bad, I would have done worse as the day continued.
 
Proverbs 10:13 In the lips of him that hath understanding wisdom is found: but a rod is for the back of him that is void of understanding.
 
Proverbs 26:3 A whip for the horse, a bridle for the ass, and a rod for the fool’s back.
 
I did not understand at the time why the switching seemed so severe. However, compared with the punishment God will inflict upon those who reject His Son when they stand before Him at the Great White Throne of Judgment, the welts were a walk in the park.
 
They went away,… the torments of eternal fire will not.
 
Proverbs 1:5 A wise man will hear, and will increase learning; and a man of understanding shall attain unto wise counsels:
 
Proverbs 1:7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction.
 
I thank God for the punishment I received as a youth. They helped me understand better the importance of respect and honor.
 
Punishment is the end result of all rebellion.
