Their “Focus” Blurs the Truth
by Ronald W Robey
 
Leviticus 27:30 And all the tithe of the land, whether of the seed of the land, or of the fruit of the tree, is the LORD’S: it is holy unto the LORD.
 
Many pastors, either intentionally or unintentionally, fail to tell their congregations that “the land” in Leviticus 27:30 refers to a specific land,… the Promised Land Canaan.
 
Deuteronomy 12:1 These are the statutes and judgments, which ye shall observe to do in the land, which the LORD God of thy fathers giveth thee to possess it, all the days that ye live upon the earth.
 
Deuteronomy 12:10 But when ye go over Jordan, and dwell in the land which the LORD your God giveth you to inherit, and when he giveth you rest from all your enemies round about, so that ye dwell in safety;
Deuteronomy 12:11 Then there shall be a place which the LORD your God shall choose to cause his name to dwell there; thither shall ye bring all that I command you; your burnt offerings, and your sacrifices, your tithes, and the heave offering of your hand, and all your choice vows which ye vow unto the LORD:
 
God’s tithe is holy. No doubt.
 
But Pastor’s will not tell their congregations that the ONLY tithe that is holy, is the tithe that comes from the Promised Land Canaan.
 
Why is this tithe considered to be holy? Because the Patriarch Jacob had promised to set the tithe from the land of Canaan apart for God.
 
Genesis 28:20 And Jacob vowed a vow, saying, If God will be with me, and will keep me in this way that I go, and will give me bread to eat, and raiment to put on,
Genesis 28:21 So that I come again to my father’s house in peace; then shall the LORD be my God:
Genesis 28:22 And this stone, which I have set for a pillar, shall be God’s house: and of all that thou shalt give me I will surely give the tenth unto thee.
 
Jacob’s vow was in response to a dream that Jacob had in which God spoke to him and told him that He would give Jacob the land on which he was sleeping
 
Genesis 28:13 And, behold, the LORD stood above it, and said, I am the LORD God of Abraham thy father, and the God of Isaac: the land whereon thou liest, to thee will I give it, and to thy seed;
Genesis 28:14 And thy seed shall be as the dust of the earth, and thou shalt spread abroad to the west, and to the east, and to the north, and to the south: and in thee and in thy seed shall all the families of the earth be blessed.
Genesis 28:15 And, behold, I am with thee, and will keep thee in all places whither thou goest, and will bring thee again into this land; for I will not leave thee, until I have done that which I have spoken to thee of.
 
God did not promise to give Jacob anything but land and protection. And when Jacob awoke from his dream, he vowed to give a tenth of that which God would give him,… the land,… back to God.
 
The elements of the tithe of the land were clearly articulated in the verse, when the author wrote, “whether of the seed of the land; or of the fruit of the tree”. The tithes were agricultural. This is abundantly clear.
 
Though many pastors focus on the words “the tithe” and “is holy” when teaching from Leviticus 27:30, they still used deception. In doing so, they blur the truth found in the remainder of the verse.
