Always Ask for Verification
by Ronald W Robey

Many times, I have been told that we are required by God to tithe our monetary income, and that we are to give that tithe to the Pastors of the local church we are members of.

The basic argument is, “God requires you to tithe to the local church you are a member of.  If the pastor of the church uses the money for his own selfish greed, he will have to answer to God for that.   You obey God, and let God deal with the Pastor.”

 
In light of the fact that we should be wise stewards with all that God has entrusted us with, I am not so sure that God won’t hold us responsible for foolishly giving ten percent of our money to a ravenous wolf in a suit and tie.
 
If my next-door neighbor came to my house and said he was authorized by the electric company to receive the payment for my electric bill, I would not just hand him my monthly check.  I would first call the electric company and verify that my next-door neighbor was, in fact, authorized to receive the payment for the electricity I used that month.
 
If I found out that my next-door neighbor is authorized to receive the payment for my electricity, then I would make sure I got a receipt from him just in case he used the money frivolously, or in case he misplaced it instead of turning it in to the electric company. With such a receipt, the electric company would hold my next-door neighbor responsible for the money and not me.

However, if I found out that my next-door neighbor was not authorized to receive the payment for the electricity I used, I would not give him any money whatsoever.  I would have nothing to do with my next-door neighbor from that point forward.

 
Just as I would call the electric company for verification that my next-door neighbor is authorized to receive the payment for the electricity I use, so also, I go to God’s word for verification when a Pastor tells me that God requires me to pay tithes of my monetary income, and that he, as God’s representative, is authorized by God to receive monetary tithes that are owed..
 
Finding no such verification in God’s word for the monetary tithe requirement, nor for the Pastors claim that he is authorized to receive God’s tithe,, I keep my money in my pocket and leave the church property, shaking the dust from my feet as a testimony against them.
