Lending to the Lord
by Ronald W Robey

Many today are sitting at their tables and desks and filling out their check for tomorrow’s tithe to their local assembly. Many may be doing so from their easy chair.

Many of these same people have heard a knock on their door this past week, or will hear one within the next several hours as the day progresses. Upon answering the door, they find it is a neighbor in need; maybe of a couple eggs, or a cup of sugar, a stick of butter, or some other food item… which you may gladly give if you have it.

But pause and think for a moment? Is the item asked for the only need my neighbor may have? Two eggs will not go very far, especially if there is more than one person in the household of that neighbor. A cup of flour will be spent fairly easy as well.

Matthew 25:41 Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels:
Matthew 25:42 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink:
Matthew 25:43 I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not.
Matthew 25:44 Then shall they also answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, or athirst, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee?
Matthew 25:45 Then shall he answer them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me.
Matthew 25:46 And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal.

1 John 3:17 But whoso hath this world’s good, and seeth his brother have need, and shutteth up his bowels of compassion from him, how dwelleth the love of God in him?

If there is a need for butter, for milk, for eggs, then chances are there is a much greater need for groceries. Consider taking your neighbor to the store, or going to the store by yourself, and purchasing groceries with your neighbor… using that check you were going to give to the local assembly tomorrow.

Matthew 25:34 Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:
Matthew 25:35 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:
Matthew 25:36 Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.
Matthew 25:37 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?
Matthew 25:38 When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?
Matthew 25:39 Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?
Matthew 25:40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

The Church today has lost its focus. They have become self-centered and self-serving, neglecting the poor and needy of the community that they are supposed to be a light of truth and compassion in.

“Give God’s tithe to a person that doesn’t even attend my Church? How preposterous!” Suppose God had the same attitude toward us when we were lost and without God? “Give my Son for a people that don’t even know me? How preposterous!”

Brethren, let us stop this foolishness of thinking we please God in our actions when we can’t even bring ourselves to show compassion and concern for those around us.

Proverbs 19:17 He that hath pity upon the poor lendeth unto the LORD; and that which he hath given will he pay him again.

Proverbs 29:7 The righteous considereth the cause of the poor: but the wicked regardeth not to know it.

Yes, give your check that you wrote out as tithe to that person in need. For in doing so, you are giving it unto God.

